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Virginia Military Survivors and Dependents Education 
Program Frequently Asked Questions 2024-2025 

 
Overview 

 
The VMSDEP is a Commonwealth of Virginia program that provides education benefits to spouses and 
children of qualifying Veterans who has been rated by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs (USDVA) as 
totally and permanently disabled or at least 90 percent permanently disabled as a result of military service 
and of qualifying Military Service Members killed, missing in action, taken prisoner, or who has been rated 
by the USDVA as totally and permanently disabled or at least 90 percent permanently disabled as a direct 
result of involvement in covered military combat. Military service includes service in the United States 
Armed Forces, United States Armed Forces Reserves, or the Virginia National Guard. 
 
The Virginia Department of Veterans Services (VDVS) is responsible for managing the 
program and collaborates with the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) 
and Virginia’s public colleges and universities to assist survivors and dependents of 
qualified Veterans or Service members in attaining their educational goals. 

 
1. Who are eligible to receive benefits under the VMSDEP? 

 
Tier 1 Eligibility - the student must be admitted to a Virginia public college or university 
and the spouse or the child (the child must be between the ages of 16 and 29 and there is no 
age limit for the spouse) of a Veteran who became rated by the USDVA totally and 
permanently disabled or at least 90 percent permanently disabled as a result of military 
service and meets the domiciliary requirement as defined in the Code of Virginia § 23.1-608. 

 

Tier 2 Eligibility - the student must be admitted to a Virginia public college or university 
and the spouse or the child (the child must be between the ages of 16 and 29 and there is no 
age limit for the spouse) of a Veteran or military service member who was killed; became 
missing in action; taken prisoner of war; or has been rated by the USDVA as  totally and 
permanently disabled or at least 90% permanently disabled due to direct involvement in 
covered military combat (includes military operation against terrorism; a peacekeeping 
mission; a terrorist act; or any armed conflict) and meets the domiciliary requirement as 
defined in the Code of Virginia § 23.1-608. 

 

2. What benefits are available under the Virginia Military Survivors and Dependents 
Education Program (VMSDEP)? 

 
Waiver of tuition and mandatory fees for Tier 1 and Tier 2 eligible students. Mandatory fees 
are defined by each school.  

 
Tier 2 students are eligible for a VMSDEP stipend to offset the costs of room, board, 
books, and supplies. The amount of stipend is contingent on funding and it is not 
guaranteed. If available, the VMSDEP stipend is provided once per semester. 

 

https://www.va.gov/education/survivor-dependent-benefits/
https://www.dvs.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/myVMSDEP-Quick-Start-Guide.pdf
https://www.virginia.gov/agencies/state-council-of-higher-education-for-virginia/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title23.1/chapter6/section23.1-608/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title23.1/chapter6/section23.1-608/
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3. How do I check on the status of my VMSDEP stipend? 
 
The VMSDEP stipend is confirmed by only the State Council of Higher Education 
for Virginia (SCHEV). If available, the SCHEV releases the funds to your attending 
school for disbursement. To inquire about the status of your VMSDEP stipend, you 
must contact your attending school’s financial aid department; and if you are 
informed the VMSDEP stipend is not yet released to the school, you may request the 
referenced department contact the SCHEV for detailed information pertaining to your 
VMSDEP stipend. 

 
4. May I use my VMSDEP benefits after I reach age 30? 

 
A qualifying child above age 29 may request an age waiver to use the benefits in cases in 
which extenuating circumstances prevented usage before age 30. You must submit substantial 
evidence and a statement with the following information to request an age waiver due to 
extenuating circumstances: 

 
• Your full name; 
• Your date of birth; 
• Your current mailing address; and 
• The extenuating circumstances that prevented you from using VMSDEP benefits prior 

to your 30th birthday. 
 

You must submit the information by email to VMSDEP@dvs.virginia.gov. 
 
5. Can a military Veteran’s or Service Member’s stepchild or adopted child use 

VMSDEP benefits? 
 

The biological and adopted child of a qualifying military Veteran or Service Member may 
use VMSDEP benefits. 
 
Effective July 1, 2022, the VMSDEP extended to the stepchild of a qualifying military 
Service Member who is deceased; AND due to direct involvement in covered military 
combat, resulted in either of the following: 
• Was killed  
• Became missing in action  
• Became a prisoner of war 
• Rated by the USDVA as totally and permanently disabled or at least 90% 

permanently disabled  
 
Also, the qualifying military Service Member must have claimed the stepchild on his or her 
tax return or on his or her Defense Enrollment Eligibility Reporting System while serving 
on active duty.  

 
 
 
 
 

mailto:VMSDEP@dvs.virginia.gov
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6. As an eligible child, if I get married while attending school, do I lose my eligibility for 
VMSDEP benefits? 

 
No, an eligible child's marital status does not affect such child's eligibility for VMSDEP 
benefits. 

 
7. Who can submit an application for VMSDEP benefits? 

 
You may submit an application if you are the: 

• Child; or, 
 

• Spouse. 
 

8. What should I do to apply for VMSDEP benefits? 
  

Complete the VMSDEP application online at https://vmsdep.dvs.virginia.gov/user/login. 
 

9. How long does the application process take? 
 

Application processing time-frame takes up to 10 calendar days. In order to determine 
eligibility and attending school(s) receive(s) authorization prior to your semester start 
date, a completed VMSDEP  application should be submitted at least 60 calendar days 
prior to the date tuition and mandatory fees are due to the school(s): 

 
Semester You Plan to Start Your Benefits Submit Application By 
Fall May 1st 
Spring September 1st 
Summer December 15th 

 
10. Do I need to reapply every year of enrollment? 

 
No, you do not have to reapply. Beneficiaries must update enrollment information each 
semester in order to use VMSDEP benefits. Instructions to update enrollment information are 
located online at www.dvs.virginia.gov. 

 
NOTE: Beneficiaries should also contact the attending schools for further instructions to 
use the benefits at the respective institutions. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

https://vmsdep.dvs.virginia.gov/user/login
https://vmsdep.dvs.virginia.gov/user/login
https://www.dvs.virginia.gov/education-employment/virginia-military-survivors-and-dependents-education-program-2-2-2
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11. When do I update my enrollment information? 
 
Enrollment Open/Close Dates: 

Terms Open Close (Due by) 
Fall July 01 October 31 
Spring (Winter credits hours are 
combined with Spring) November 03 March 31 

Summer April 01 June 30 
 
If you do not complete your enrollment update by the listed Close (Due by) date and time, you 
must request retroactive approval from your attending Virginia public college or university; 
and if approved, the respective institution will notify the VMSDEP Office of such approval; 
upon which, the Office will authorize the qualifying semester.  

 
12. What should I do if I have a student account balance after I have updated my enrollment 

information? 
 
Access your account and view the semester(s) for which the attending school(s) has your 
authorization(s); then, you must contact the attending school(s) for detailed information 
pertaining to your student account balance. 

 
13. How does the tuition and mandatory fees waiver work? 

 
Beneficiaries are able to use the benefits for eight semesters. This also applies if you attend 
one school for part of your eligibility period and another school for the remainder. Please 
note that semesters, not academic credit earned, is the standard measure to determine 
benefit usage. 

 
14. Are VMSDEP beneficiaries entitled to receive a stipend for     school attendance? 

 
Tier 1 beneficiaries are not eligible for a stipend. 

 
Tier 2 beneficiaries are eligible to receive a stipend.  

 

The VMSDEP stipend is confirmed by only the State Council of Higher Education 
for Virginia (SCHEV). If available, the SCHEV releases the funds to your attending 
school for disbursement. To inquire about the status of your VMSDEP stipend, you 
must contact your attending school’s financial aid department; and if you are 
informed the VMSDEP stipend is not yet released to the school, you may request the 
referenced department contact the SCHEV for detailed information pertaining to your 
VMSDEP stipend. 

 
15. Does entitlement to VMSDEP benefits guarantee admission to a Virginia public college 

or university? 
 

No, eligibility for the VMSDEP benefit does not guarantee admission. All students must 
meet  each individual college’s or university’s admission requirements. 

 
 

https://vmsdep.dvs.virginia.gov/user/login
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16. Can I transfer my VMSDEP benefits to a different school? 
 
Yes. You may use your VMSDEP benefits at a different Virginia public college or 
university. Please see How to Use the VMSDEP After Approval for detailed instructions. 

 
17. May I attend more than one Virginia public colleges or universities at the same time? 

 
Yes, VMSDEP beneficiaries are permitted to use the benefits at multiple Virginia public 
colleges and universities. 

 
18. May I take online courses? 

 
Yes, if those classes are offered by a Virginia public college or university. 

 
19. May I use my VMSDEP benefits for remedial or refresher courses? 

 
Yes, if those classes are offered by a Virginia public college or university. 

 
20. May I use VMSDEP benefits for non-credit courses? 

 
Yes, if those classes are offered by a Virginia public college or university. 

 
Non-credit courses are not eligible for stipend. (Please see SCHEV’s Tier 2 Stipend fact 
sheet (https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/financial-
aid/vmsdepfactsheet20210930.pdf)  

 
 

21. May I use VMSDEP benefits for study-abroad courses? 
 
Yes, if a study abroad program is owned by a public institution, then the respective 
institution is required to waive the tuition and mandatory fees; however, if the program is a 
contract, or third-party program offered through, but independent of, a public institution, the 
tuition and fees charges cannot be waived because VMSDEP benefits are not applicable at 
institutions other than a public institution. 

 
22. May I use my VMSDEP benefits to earn a masters or professional degree? 

 
Yes, VMSDEP benefits may be used for any program offered at any Virginia public or 
university. The benefits are available for eight semesters. This includes graduate 
studies, law school, and etc. 

 
23. May I use my VMSDEP benefits to attend a private school or a school in another state? 

 
No, VMSDEP benefits are only applicable at a Virginia public colleges and universities. 

 
If you choose to attend a private school, you may be entitled to receive federal education 
benefits offered by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). Visit the VA’s website at 
https://www.va.gov/ to obtain additional information. 

 

https://www.dvs.virginia.gov/education-employment/virginia-military-survivors-and-dependents-education-program-2-2-2
https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheet20210930.pdf
https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheet20210930.pdf
https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheet20210930.pdf
https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheet20210930.pdf
https://www.va.gov/
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24. What happens if I drop out of school or have a temporary interruption in matriculation? 
 

If you withdraw from enrollment and did not use VMSDEP benefits to cover any part of 
charges incurred during enrollment, your attending school will report you did not use the 
benefits for the respective semester which will not count towards your remaining benefits 
balance. If you feel it is a discrepancy with your remaining benefits balance, you should 
submit a completed Recalculation Request Form to the VMSDEP Office.  
 

25. Are there any attendance or academic requirements that I must meet to continue my 
eligibility under VMSDEP? 

 
No. You do not have to report your any attendance or academic information to the 
VMSDEP Office. 

 
26. If I do not successfully complete one of my courses, may I repeat it under VMSDEP? 

 
Yes. VMSDEP benefits apply toward any courses taken by an eligible student within any 
given semester. The benefits are calculated on a semester basis regardless of the how many 
courses taken within a semester. 
 
NOTE: Taking one course within a semester will result in using one semester of VMSDEP 
benefits; and similarly, taking multiple courses within a semester will result in using one 
semester of VMSDEP benefits. 

 
27. How is VMSDEP different from the VA’s Dependents Education Assistance 

(DEA/Chapter 35) Program? 
 

The DEA/Chapter 35 is offered by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs and is not 
administered by the VMSDEP Office. VMSDEP is provided by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia and is administered by the Virginia Department of Veterans Services. The DEA 
program is a program offered by VA and falls under the G.I. Bill benefits umbrella. 
Eligibility for one program is not automatically equate to eligibility for the other. 

 
28. Can I use my VMSDEP benefits in conjunction with my DEA (Chapter 35) benefits? 

 
Yes, eligible students are permitted to use VMSDEP and DEA benefits concurrently. 

 
NOTE: Eligibility periods for the programs vary; therefore, students should consider their 
individual circumstances to determine whether to use the benefits simultaneously or 
separately. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://www.dvs.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/VMSDEP-Recalculation-Request-Form.pdf
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29. If approved for VMSDEP benefits, can I be reimbursed for education expenses paid for 
out-of-pocket? 

 
Eligibility for the VMSDEP benefit is based upon the date that an application was 
submitted. It is at the discretion of the college or university whether any tuition and fees 
applied to the student’s account prior to the VMSDEP benefit authorization date. Please note 
that colleges and universities are not obligated to refund any monies that have already been 
paid. 

 
30. What should I do if I have additional questions? 

 
Please visit the VMSDEP website for detailed information.  
 
Please contact the Virginia Department of Veterans Services. 
• Email: VMSDEP@dvs.virginia.gov 
• Phone: (804) 225-2083 

 
 

 

https://www.dvs.virginia.gov/education-employment/virginia-military-survivors-and-dependents-education-program-2-2-2
mailto:VMSDEP@dvs.virginia.gov
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